Tim Brown takes 1st in Flatbed Class and Grand Champion

May 04, 2017

Truck Driving Championships


First-time competitor Coulter will join several veterans as Idaho’s team heads to Florida and the National Step Van and Truck Driving Championships

May 13, 2017 MERIDIAN, ID – Fifty-five professional truck drivers from across Idaho gathered at the Idaho State Police Training Facility today to compete for top honors in Idaho and the opportunity to represent their state and company at the National Step Van and Truck Driving Championships, August 9-12, in Orlando, Fla.

This event is the premier safety event for the Idaho Trucking Association, and it showcases drivers who value safety above all else.

Alan Stacy, FedEx Ground, will again represent Idaho in the Straight Truck Class. Randall Schwasinger, FedEx Freight, Inc., is making his second consecutive trip in the Step Van Class. One first-time competitor, also known as a rookie, will represent Idaho in the 5-axle class at the national level. Drew Coulter, who drives for Reddaway, will be the only rookie to represent Idaho this year. Veterans with multiple trips to the national competition under their belts took home top honors in most of the classes this year. They include Jeff Halford, XPO Logistics; Dan Istre, Reddaway; Dave Murphy, YRC; and Timothy Melody, ABF Freight System, Inc. The team from Idaho is rounded out with Dean Goodnight, Reddaway, and Timothy Brown, Arlo G. Lott Trucking.

A list of complete winners, their employer and their hometown, is below.

In all, eleven different companies were represented in nine classes of competition. Some have a strong national presence, while others were local or regional including Arlo G. Lott Trucking, Inc., Jerome; Doug Andrus Distributing LLC, Idaho Falls; Giltner Inc., Jerome; May Trucking Company, Salem, Ore.; and Off-Spec Solutions LLC, Caldwell. In addition, Nicole Anderson with ABF Freight System, Inc., was the first woman to place in Idaho’s competition. She took home 2nd place in the 3 Axle Class, beating her 11th place finish last year.

“We had a great group of drivers this year,” said Julie Pipal, president and CEO of the Idaho Trucking Association (ITA), the organization that puts on the annual event. “The competition was tough and several of the rookies gave the veterans a run for their money.”

Competitors must first be accident free for a year to even be eligible to compete. Once entered, each must take a written test on the knowledge of safety regulations, and conduct a pre-trip inspection that is judged by member of the Idaho State Police’s Commercial Vehicle Safety Unit. After the written and pre-trip segments are completed, drivers must take a skills test (driving) through a series of problems. Winners are selected based on their overall performance in all three segments and awards are presented to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners in nine classes of competition. The 1st place winner in each class will represent Idaho at the national competition.

Awards are also given for the best pre-trip, rookie of the year (first-time competitor), team performance and grand champion.

The Best Pre-trip Award, which tests a driver’s ability to find defects in a truck before getting on the road, went to Jeff Halford, XPO Logistics. The Rookie of the Year was awarded to Coulter. The team award went to ABF Freight System, Inc., for the 2nd year in a row.

The Grand Champion Award, which is based on a driver’s performance in all three tests – written, pre-trip and skills (driving) – was captured by Timothy Brown, Arlo G. Lott Trucking.

The winners in all classes are as follows:

1st Dave Murphy, YRC Freight, Meridian
2nd Nicole Anderson, ABF Freight System, Inc., Kuna
3rd Mark VanBlaricom, Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc., Meridian

1st Jeff Halford, XPO Logistics, Meridian
2nd Eugene “Scott” Scheuffele, ABF Freight System, Inc., Nampa
3rd Adam Heim, Fed Ex Freight, Inc., Rathdrum

1st Drew Coulter, Reddaway, Star
2nd Mark Tubbs, Off-Spec Solutions, Nampa
3rd Jacob Davis, XPO Logistics, Boise

1st Timothy Brown, Arlo G. Lott Trucking, Twin Falls
2nd William Hill, Jr., Old Dominion Freight Lines, Marsing
3rd Scott Volkers, ABF Freight System, Inc., Nampa

Step Van
1st Randall Schwasinger, FedEx Freight, Inc., Boise
2nd Michael Perkins, FedEx Ground, Emmett
3rd James Fuhriman, FedEx Ground, Nampa

Sleeper Berth
1st Dean Goodnight, Reddaway, Nampa
2nd Shannon Potter, Doug Andrus Distributing,
3rd Blair Shumway, Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc., Meridian

Straight Truck
1st Alan Stacy, FedEx Ground, Boise
2nd Josh Jetton, XPO Logistics, Wilder
3rd William Nolan III, Old Dominion Freight Lines, Kuna (Continued from page 1)

Tank Truck
1st Tim Melody, ABF Freight System, Inc., Payette
2nd Glenn Pufhal, Old Dominion Freight Lines, Twin Falls
3rd Paul Callahan, Reddaway, Boise Twin

1st Dan Istre, Reddaway, Caldwell
2nd Scott Beal, FedEx Freight, Inc., Boise
3rd Beau Bonds, Old Dominion Freight Lines, Nampa

Thank You to all the generous companies that donated their valuable equipment that made the TDC possible.

ABF Freight System, Inc. Arlo G. Lott Trucking, Inc. FedEx Freight, Inc. FedEx Ground Kenworth Sales Company May Trucking Company Old Dominion Freight Lines Reddaway Ruan Rush Truck Centers Simplot Transportation Western Idaho Freightliner XPO Logistics YRC Freight

Ray Rice, TDC Chairman - Western Idaho Freightliner (left) with Grand Champion Tim Brown - Arlo G. Lott Trucking, Inc. (right)



SMC Meetings Safety Awards Truck Driving Championships Announcement Driver Appreciation Week Electronic Logging Devices ELD News Careers

Stay In Touch